Gold Gelatine Leaves

Item #: 739

Gelatin is an odorless, tasteless thickening agent that forms a gel when combined with liquid and heated. It is thermo-reversible, which means that the gel liquefies when heated above its melting point but regains a jelly-like consistency when cooled again. The melting point of gelatin is close to the body temperature of the animal from which it is made, which for mammals is around 99F/37C.

The raw material for gelatin is collagen, a naturally occurring pure protein, which is commercially produced from bones, cartilage, tendons, skin and connective tissue of various animals. Much of commercial gelatin today is a by-product of pigskin. Gelatin can also be extracted naturally in the home, for instance when boiling bones to make a stock or aspic.

Common examples of foods containing gelatin are molded desserts, cold soups, trifles, aspic, marshmallows, and confectioneries such as Peeps, gummy bears, candy corn, and jelly beans. Gelatin may also be used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods such as jams, yogurt, cream cheese, and margarine. It is often added to reduced-fat foods to simulate the mouthfeel of fat and to create volume without adding calories. Additionally, gelatin is used for the clarification of juices and vinegar.

Because gelatin is derived from animal hide and bone there are problems with regard to kosher and Halal status and many vegetarians also have objections to its use. In these cases, alternative choices include agar , guar gum, xanthan gum, pectin and kudzu.

Sheet Gelatin, also called Leaf Gelatin, works like granular gelatin found in your local grocery store, but in a different form. Rather than a powder, it is takes the shape of thin sheets or leaves of gelatin film. The sheets dissolve more slowly than the granulated form, but also produce a clearer gelled product.

  • Size: 6/ 1 KG